Girl in pink

This was a fun little card for me to do.  It’s a mere 3.5″ x 3.5″.  I have not used this stamp in a looooong time.  The last time I used it was for a 4th of July card several years ago.  Of course for that occasion I painted her dress red, white, and blue.  I like her better in pink and white.

I also thought it would be fun to make my own decorative paper.  Well, it was fun, but also somewhat time-consuming.  But it’s a great way to use up scraps.  I cut some scrap paper into stripes and glued them onto the bottom triangle. 

Then I put tape on more scrap paper and then used an office-supply hole puncher to punch out the dots on the top triangle.  Putting tape on first might not work for all punches.  It just worked with this particular punch because it was made more for the office and not really for card-makers.  Putting the tape on first really helped because it would’ve been a pain for me to get those little dots on there.  If I’d had a Xyron (sticker maker), I would’ve used that for both the strips and the dots. 

I used Stampin’ Up!’s mat pack grid for the placement of the dots.  I put the grid on the pink paper, traced circles, and then put the punched out dots on top of the traced circles. 

Card supplies:

Stamp:  “Miss February” by D.O.T.S. (now Close To My Heart)
Paper:  Strathmore’s 140 lb cold-pressed watercolour paper, PaperTrey’s Vintage Cream, generic pink, light pink
Ink:  Memories Black, Tim Holtz Worn Lipstick (for sponging around the girl’s outline)
Miscellaneous:  Winsor & Newton’s Cotman watercolours, Marvy scallop punch, circle guide (used it to cut out the circle by hand;  I don’t have a circle punch), sponge, small hole punch, dimensionals

3 Responses to “Girl in pink”

  1. Victoria Says:

    I love the background paper that you made. You clever thing you.

  2. Catherine Cote Says:

    Looooooooove this card. It’s so happy! And great job at watercoloring.
    CC

  3. Lim Says:

    Beautiful!!!. I looove this stamp.
    Gorgeous card , colors and coloring.

    hugs,
    LIM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

