Birthday House Elf

It started as an entreaty from my husband eons ago.  “Draw me as a house elf” he asked, after having read and watched a series of those charming Harry Potter books and movies.  For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking (typing) about, he was referring to this little fellow:

http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Dobby

Finally for his birthday this year, I did draw my husband as one.  I frantically started the drawing at 3:07 am on the dawn of his birthday, and finished it much later, right about 9:37 am. 

Usually house elves are industrious little creatures, puttering about doing all manner of housework and chores, but for this one day, Patrick the House elf is lolling about watching the television, accompanied by his friends the Ladybug and the Turtle, and enjoying his orange sherbert, a chocolate chip cookie (desserts first) with a soda and a hamburger to follow.  I’m right there, a fellow house elf, with a stack of hideously green (his favourite colour) birthday cards for his Majesty (he is king for the day). 

His Royal Highness did enjoy this illustration so much that he very fortunately pardoned me for my tardiness.

PS  If you wish you may click on it for a larger image.  Thanks for looking!

6 Responses to “Birthday House Elf”

  1. Karen Says:

    What a great illustration! You’re lucky to have a house elf in the house! I would let my house elf have his birthday off too, and definitely start with dessert first. I always enjoy your posts!

  2. kristina Says:

    Wonderful drawing, your husband must have been thrilled!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Darling! Much cuter than the house elf from the movie! I wouldn’t mind having little guys (and gals) like that around provided they didn’t lie around all the time!

  4. Angelnorth Says:

    Fantastic illustration Sophie, I’m not surprised you were granted a royal pardon on the strength of this one!

  5. Charmaine Says:

    Sophie, I’ve missed you! Great drawing…I love house elves too and wish I had one here to help me out at times :)

    Charmaine

  6. Cheryl O Says:

    Your drawing is just precious, what a great illustrator!!! Thank you so much for sharing it with us….you certainly don’t need to buy stamps with a talent like that!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

