Truck on envelope

Okay, I made  a Halloween card for my nephew, and now I want to decorate the envelope.  He loves trucks, so off I go to get a reference image from Wet Canvas .  I draw the first pencil sketch:

 

truck-pencil-sketch.jpg

 But I am not happy with the placement of the truck on the envelope.  So out comes the eraser.  Um, it’s about 9am now, and I must get it out to the mailbox today by 11am if it even has a chance to make it to him by Halloween in three days.   Oh well…so I try another pencil sketch, and this time I am more mindful of the placement:

truck-sketch-2.jpg

 Okay, now it is 9:21am so it will have to do, because I am feeling stressed (yeah, nothing like waiting ’til the last minute *chuckle*).   And what the heck is that little spot on the bottom of the scanned image?  So – I take a break to clean the scanner glass (okay, note to self:  get a digital camera). 

Okay, this pencil sketch, while rather shoddy (but he won’t care – he’ll like it regardless, and that’s what counts, right?) will get inked up with a 005 Micron pen.  I like these pens because they are waterproof, and the 005 is the smallest tip I’ve found so far.  It is .2 mm thick.  After the inking, the pencil will get erased.  Anyway, here goes:

inked-truck.jpg

Okay, oops, missed a bit of pencil there, but at least now that spot is gone from my scanner. *grin* It’s 9:49am now. Should I watercolour it? Um, okay, why not. The mailman hardly ever arrives early. It gets coloured with Cotman (student grade) Winsor & Newton watercolours. I bought a kit of these at Michael’s with a 40%-off coupon, and it looks as if each tube will last forever. Nevertheless, as I use up each tube, I plan to replace each colour with a professional grade (I figure I might have enough experience by then – years from now – not to waste it).  Anyway, the colours used here were Ivory Black, a mixture of Cadmium Red Pale Hue and Alizarin Crimson Hue (for the tail-lights), and Grumbacher’s Indigo (Hue) for the license plate.  Oh.  Grumbacher is another brand of watercolours, different from Winsor & Newton.  The Indigo Hue is the only Grumbacher tube that I have.  I didn’t buy it, but rather, discovered it at my parents’ house.  They had no idea how they ended up with it and said I was welcome to it. 

I used to buy just any type of envelope, until I started watercolouring.  Then I switched to Neenah Paper’s Classic Linen envelopes.  I have these envelopes in two colours:  Solar White (which I used for the truck) and Baronial Ivory.  I don’t know what it is, but maybe the texture of the paper allows me to move the pigment around a bit before it stubbornly refuses to move any further.  Normal envelopes would not let me shift the colour around.  Also, while there is a little bit of warping (or pilling) of the paper, I can bend it back well enough.  I am too lazy to make my own envelopes from thin watercolour paper, so this will have to do.   

truck-or-treat.jpg

Whew!  It is now 10:13am, and it’s sealed and IN the mailbox!! I even remembered to insert his card first!

A note of gratitude must go to my co-worker, who noticed an advertisement (advertising trucks for sale) with the phrase “Truck or treat”.  *grin*  Had I not been inspired by that, I would probably have just decorated this envelope with one of my many rubber stamps, which my nephew might not have enjoyed as much, since I’ve not a single rubber stamp of a truck. 

3 Responses to “Truck on envelope”

  1. Bianca Says:

    Your drawings are awesome – as always!!!
    Great you started a Blog! I wish you luck with it!
    Bianca from Germany!

  2. Shannan Teubner Says:

    Sophie, I am a huge fan of your work…you amaze me!! Can’t wait to buy stamps of your drawings!

  3. Natalie Says:

    This is AMAZING, Sophie! You’re an incredible artist!

Leave a Reply

