Stockings

Well, I am trying to make Christmas cards now.  This week’s sketch challenge (SC151) helped a lot. 

I buy Strathmore’s 140 lb watercolour paper in pads of 9 x 12 inches, and am always cutting them down to 8.5 x 11 inches, so I have all these thin little strips left, right?  Well, I get them at Michael’s with a 40%-off coupon for $5.18 (this includes tax).  There’s 12 sheets in a pad, so that is about 43 cents per sheet!  So…none of this precious paper is going to the trash;  I’ll find ways to use it.  So one day months ago, I took some strips and cut some stockings out, using the image from Stampin’ Up!’s Holiday Tag Team set.  Well, I forgot about them until today, when I saw them in the Holiday Tag Team box.  So I taped them to some green paper and matted it with darker green paper, and then put it on red paper.  Then I took more of those thin strips of watercolour paper and stamped on them with the thin line of text from the French version of Stampin’ Up!’s Happiness Background stamp (which I had cut apart)…

stockings1-wm.jpg 

But I didn’t want there to be an uneven feel to the card, where the top and bottom of the red parts would be lumpy, so I took another thin strip, cut it down to size, and taped them to the sides in the back…

stockingsstrip-wm.jpg

Then I took a break to mount one phrase from the French version of Stampin’ Up!’s So Many Sayings

cutwordstamps-wm.jpg

The phrase I wanted was “meilleurs vœux” (which means “best wishes”). 

Here is the finished card:

stockingsdone-wm.jpg

Anyway, I thought it was a neat way to use up those thin strips of expensive watercolour paper!

Here are the rest of the things I used to make this card:

The “noël” stamp is from the French version of Stampin’ Up!’s Many Merry Messages.  The inks used were SU!’s Whisper White pigment ink, Memories Black, and Tim Holtz Fired Brick.  The papers are craft, olive green, Neenah’s Paper Classic Linen (red and dark green), and Strathmore’s watercolour paper.  I painted the stockings with Winsor & Newton watercolours. 

2 Responses to “Stockings”

  1. Heather R. Says:

    I love this card. It is so simple, yet so AWSOME! LOL…

  2. Sharon (notimetostamp) Says:

    Oh my gosh, this card is just fabuous!!! I guess I never gave thought to the fact that SU stamps come in different languages — how cool!!! Love all your little stockings — great card!!!

Leave a Reply

