Gift tags

A co-worker asked if I could wrap a couple of birthday presents for his wife, and of course I said YES because I love wrapping presents!  I picked out some paper that matched the grosgrain ribbon that I recently bought at Really Reasonable Ribbon.  Then I wanted to make gift tags that matched the wrapping paper.  I used watercolours and a really fine-tipped brush to paint the tag on the smaller present, but before making the second tag, I thought for the umpteenth time, “boy, it sure would be neat and a lot easier if I could somehow use my fine-point calligraphy nib instead of a brush!  Previously, I had tried to mix paint in with some water in a little container so I could dip the nib into the mixture – that got good results but that resulted in a huge waste of pigment if I only wanted to write a tiny bit.  Then I wondered if I could load up the brush and just wipe it off on the side of the nib like this…
brush-nib-tips-wm.jpg

And it worked!!  It left enough on the nib for me to write just a little bit!  If the colour was too concentrated, I found I could simply add maybe half a drop more of water to lighten the colour. 

 I applied watercolour to the second tag on the larger present using the nib.  Here are the tags (the green words on the right one are painted with a brush, and everything else was done with a nib):
gift-tags-wm.jpg

and here are the finished presents…
richs-presents-wm.jpg

I hope his wife enjoys them!

2 Responses to “Gift tags”

  1. nkirk Says:

    These are gorgeous! I would not want to open the package as they are so pretty!

  2. Michelle Says:

    I love how you did the lettering. Thanks for sharing that! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

