hiker with book

This is a 4×6 inch painting that I did for my sister, following her specific description of what she wanted. 
hiker2-wm.jpg
It is still unfinished.  I still have to paint the title of the book he is carrying.  But I’d prefer to remember the painting this way.  I like imagining that it is a sketchbook that he is carrying.  I painted this on Strathmore’s 140lb cold-pressed watercolour paper with Winsor & Newton watercolours. 

My deep gratitude goes to Mrs. Noofy of SplitcoastStampers.com for suggesting that I try using watercolours on real watercolour paper!  It has made a world of difference.  The paper makes it seem as if I am a better painter.  Actually what it does is, it lets me lift watercolour pigment when I make a mistake.  If you look carefully, you’ll see a light blob at the bottom of his hairline.  I painted his hair too long, and so gave him a haircut by lifting out the unwanted hair with a paintbrush loaded with clean water.  Also, his thumb was originally way too short, so I lifted away some of the brown colour of the book – and so gave him a thumb of normal length.  This doesn’t work with all the pigments though.  Many of the blue pigments stain, so I still have to be careful. 

Why isn’t his arm with the book down at his side, the way a normal person would carry a book?  *sheepish grin*  It’s because originally I was going to paint his hand holding on to the backpack’s strap.  I forgot my sister had requested that he be holding a book and a walking stick.  Well, there I had already painted his hoodie, so I lifted out the green colour where I wanted to stick the book.  Oops. 

I will mail this to her after I paint in (lift out) the book’s title.  I hope she’ll like it!

5 Responses to “hiker with book”

  1. Denise Says:

    This is a nice one, Sophie! Reminds me of some watercolor prints I bought in the UK (gardening images); I should scan the pics for you; your style is very similar; maybe that is why I am so drawn to what you paint or draw; anyway, love this. Would look fantastic on a card front too!

  2. Mary Duffek Says:

    Awesome!!! I fully understand about lifting out color as an eraser. I lovey using watercolor paper when watercoloring.

    You continually amaze me with your talents!!! Have a great day!!

  3. Mrs Noofy (Sue) Says:

    Sorry I haven’t visited for a long time. Your paintings are just as beautiful as ever. I haven’t touched a brush for 5 months and hope that my creative urge will return soon. I just love the hiker. I will send something later okay?

  4. Charmaine Says:

    Your art is AMAZING! I do wish I had your talent. I always look forward to visitng your blog to see your latest work.

    Charmaine

  5. copperbird Says:

    Cocou from france! Love your lovely paintings =love everything you create that I have seen so far!!!! Just SUPER et BRAVO! I live in France and have just been going through my copies of “Histories des Pages” which is quite good ! I’m a new scrapeer and card maker and need to learn so much more. Thanks for the view and I will be back soon! I live way out in the country-side 2 hrs. from Bordeaux and luckily this site exists and Photo Passion as well! Bisou, Holly(copperbird)

Leave a Reply

