Buttercup

buttercup-bl.jpg

 I got my inspiration for this card from SCS’s  3pageprincesses’ “Sugar Nellie – Birthday”.  I loved her entire card layout, and I love the Sugar Nellie look too.  So I drew one of my friends (“Buttercup” is her nickname) as a Sugar Nellie character (hence the short hair, glasses, and lipstick).  I didn’t have a stamp of a buttercup and wasn’t sure what they looked like anyhow.  So I googled it, and uneasily (’cause I’m still foggy about what they look like) used a flower stamp I had by Magenta, and just cut into the center of each petal tip to make the petals look more like what I think a buttercup petal looks like. 

 Um, of course my husband wanted a card just like this, so I made him this one:
little-one-bl.jpg

The French means “I embrace you very strongly”.  This time the character is my husband as a Sugar Nellie character, with his glasses and his favourite beanie (but in real life, it is black). 

I didn’t have any special papers, so I did all the papers with a ton of sponging and stamping. 

Materials used:
The bottom layer is SU!’s Canvas inked up with Tim Holtz’ Worn Lipstick and Shabby Shutters (green). 
The next layer is SU!’s French Script in Tim Holtz’s Scattered Straw. 
The polka-dots layer is an Outlines Rubber Stamp inked with SU!’s Whisper White.  I sponged all over this layer with green ink after the white ink was dry. 
The panel under the characters was done with SU!’s Riveting (small circle) and Sweet Shapes (big circle). 
The letters (“Butter Cup” and “Little One”) are by Image Tree. 
The circle under the large brad is from SU’s Gentler Times. 
The little French sentiment is from the French version of SU!’s All Year Cheer. 
The triangle corner was stamped with SU!’s A to Z Accents. 
Everything was edged/sponged with Tim Holtz’s Brushed Corduroy.

 Here are the rough drafts I did of the characters. 

pencil-kids-bl.jpg
Sorry about the poor quality of this photo.  I didn’t know how to make them any clearer.  They are partially so faint because I drew them in pencil as lightly as I could.  Then I watercoloured them right over the pencil.  The girl with the beret is me (why yes, in real life I am short, and have glasses).  I watercoloured her as well and stuck her on the inside of my husband’s card. 

If anyone wants the real Sugar Nellie stamps (which are a lot cuter than my caricatures), they are available at Funky Kits

4 Responses to “Buttercup”

  1. Denise Says:

    This is so weird, but I am starting to recognize your great artwork. I did not look at the name of the blog as I scrolled through Google Reader, but stopped dead in my tracks, looking at these “cute stamps” and wondering where I could buy them. When I saw “I drew them”, I knew I was on your blog.

    You continue to amaze me. I think some of your work reminds me of Sunshine Designs. Quirky and fun.

  2. Mary Duffek Says:

    Adorable! cards. You are too talented!

  3. Kathy Says:

    How adorable your creations are!!! After looking at your work I am extremely flattered you liked my card so much!!! I love the vintage look of your paper projects!! Great job!!

  4. Michelle Says:

    I’m always amazed at your ability to draw, Sophie, and as usual, quite jealous!! Or maybe envious is a better word. You make some of the most beautiful artwork.

Leave a Reply

