Masculine birthday card

Well, my husband’s sister asked me for some masculine birthday cards.  Ah…my favourite kind of card to make – NOT!  I have such a hard time making cards for guys!!!  No pinks, purples, pastels, no flowers, hearts, etc. etc.!  Okay, so in my limited imagination, that leaves… uh, blue and green.  I also have no images suitable for a guy’s birthday card – mainly because I don’t like images geared towards guys!  Well, in desperation I turned to my sketchbook, and found a drawing I did of a friendly acquaintance:
jerrypen-bl.jpg
I had drawn this in ballpoint pen several years before, from a group photograph I think.  Anyway, so I scanned it in at 600 dpi, and placed it into Adobe Illustrator and resized it.  I got the Times New Yorker font from http://www.dafont.com/, and made the sentiment with it.  Then I printed it out on Neenah’s Classic Linen Solar White cardstock, and lightly watercoloured his skin.  Whoops.  I watercoloured too much – the paint got on his teeth.  Ew… skin-coloured teeth looks nasty.  White gel pen to the rescue! 

 Then, because I am totally un-inspired while making guy cards, I stamped a bunch of circles in blue and green.  I stamp circles when I can’t think of anything else to stamp.  The big circle is from Stampin’ Up! Sweet Shapes, and the small circle is from Stampin’ Up!’s Riveting.  I sponged his shirt blue to match the blue circles.  I also added some clock numbers from Stampin’ Up!’s  It’s About Time set to make it look better (well, I think it looks better).

Then I stamped the hat from Purple Onion Design’s Brocante Set on watercolour paper, watercoloured it, cut it out and stuck it on his head.

jerry-bl.jpg

 I made a copy of this for myself to keep.  Only on the inside of mine, in the same Times New Yorker font, I have “…to an old fart!” 

6 Responses to “Masculine birthday card”

  1. Denise Says:

    You think you have trouble making masculine cards??? Sophie!!!!! This card could be sitting in a card shop, it looks that good. Holy Cow! This is one awesome card. If mine only looked like this. So, Miss Artist, can’t wait for your next post. Your talent blows my mind.

    (Oh, and if you want more masculine card ideas, just put “masculine” in the search field on SCS and they will all come up)

  2. Michelle Says:

    This is amazing. You picked a great blue and a great green (funny that brown and grey don’t come to your mind – that’s all I think of when I think “masculine”). This would be a great joke card, and adding “to an old fart” is perfect! Some wrinkle jokes would be good too! I’m always awed by your ability to make things so gorgeous!

  3. Heather the MooseLover Says:

    Great masculine card. The background is amazing- both the colors and layout.

  4. Debby Says:

    Wow you do awesome on sketching and the card turned out great. Wish I could draw like that.
    Angel Hugs
    Debby
    http://debbysstampinheaven.blogspot.com/

  5. Compact Fluorescent Bulb : Says:

    birthday cards that are personlized are the best in my opinion, they really come from the bottom of the heart of the sender:.~

  6. Satin Panties · Says:

    i love to receive birthday cards specially if they are custom built birthday cards *~:

Leave a Reply

