Kelli’s card 2008

Well!  I must admit that I don’t actually know Kelli, but I do know her mother!  Her mom is my co-worker.  Last year she forgot Kelli’s birthday *shudder* so I made this card for her to give to her daughter.  This year she remembered in time *grin* and asked me to make another card for her.  So I went to my favourite inspiration site, Splitcoast Stampers Gallery, and found Markie’s Mom’s Delightfully Amazing card. Markie’s Mom (aka Faith Hofrichter) blogs about her card here and says it took her less than 30 minutes to make it!!  Well, I took about eight hours spread out over an entire weekend to case her card! 

I made my card bigger because my co-worker requested that it be a big card.  I didn’t have any hardware, so I cut a rectangle and drew the handles in… yeah, that’s why they’re crooked.  Next time I will use a circle guide to help me draw the handles.  Anyway, to make them look like metal, I swiped the sides on Stampin’ Up!’s Whisper White ink pad and wiped away the wet white ink, leaving a greyish cast over the dark brown paper. 
kelli-side-bl.jpg
I used an oval guide to help me cut out the oval shapes for the name.  The letters of “Kelli” came from the Stampendous Storybook Alphabet clear stamp set.

 Then I used the bird from Flourishes LLC’s Open To Love set, only I added a birthday hat and some scribbles.  The scribbles were to make it match Angi B and Company’s tulips, which also have scribbles on them. 

I stamped the bird on Canson’s 120 lb watercolour paper and then watercoloured him with Winsor & Newton watercolours.  When I taped him onto the card, I put a tiny bit of a dimensional behind the hat area, where there aren’t as many layers of paper.  Here is a close-up of the faux metal hardware with the bird perched on top:
kelli-bird-bl.jpg

Here is the inside of the card:
kelli-inside-bl.jpg

And here is a close-up of the bear and the circles. I used a circle guide to help me draw and cut out the circles (I really could’ve used some circle and oval punches or die-cuts for this card!!)…
bear-circle-bl.jpg

The bear and the tulips came from Angi B & Co. who are going out of business. I was lucky and got these adorable images in a grab bag!  I only found out about this company and I wish I had known about them sooner because I would’ve been an avid customer! 

 For all the other stuff I used to make this card, you can see the list underneath this SCS gallery post.

Edited to add:  I found http://www.woodcellargraphics.com/home1.html, which carries some of the Angi B stamps!!

One Response to “Kelli’s card 2008”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    Great card Sophie! I love all the layers.

    Charmaine

Leave a Reply

