Purple pitcher

I painted this at work at lunch time.  It was inspired by Barbara Maiser’s painting on page 118 of American Artist Watercolor magazine, the Spring 2008 issue.  My husband would only let me take this magazine to work if I kept it safe in a big ziplock bag!  *grin*

Okay, I googled her and found this in all its glory…

http://www.maiserart.com/h2odestination/pages/Azelea_jpg.htm

Um… now in the magazine, I did not see the right side of her painting!!!  This was split between two pages and for fear of upsetting my husband, I dared not fully squash open the magazine… so the right side of this painting remained in shadow.  I have also never seen Azaleas in real life.  Also, since this was at work, I painted this on a tiny piece of watercolour paper (Strathmore 140 lb cold pressed) with an Aqua painter, using Winsor & Newton Cotman tube watercolours.  My husband liked my painting a lot ’til he saw Maiser’s *laugh*.  I have a long way to go, but am loving the learning process!!

4 Responses to “Purple pitcher”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    I think it looks good…it’s your version of it after all 🙂

    Charmaine

  2. Velta Says:

    Love your blog…love your art!!! Thank you for your sweet comment on my card on SCS 🙂

  3. Michelle Weaver Says:

    Wow, Sophie, this is so pretty! You do wonderful work. Had to laugh about hubby being so protective of that magazine. I wish my hubby would feel that way about the art mags I get!

  4. Barbara Maiser Says:

    Good Job!
    Keep the paints and paper moist if you want edges to blend, dry in the areas where you want to save the whites or create hard edges.
    Barbara Maiser

Leave a Reply

