Tulips galore

I made this card for a co-worker who loves the colour purple (though what is actually shown here is the copy I made for my husband).  I bought this paper (Lavender Lace by Stampin’ Up!) with this co-worker in mind, in fact.  I also bought the green paper (Green Galore by Stampin’ Up!) with my husband in mind, because that is one of his favourite shades of green.  These two paper packs are the first papers I have bought from Stampin’ Up! and I am happy with the result. 

 

Then a co-worker asked if I could make two Mother’s Day cards for her, so I said “of course!”  And since I am lazy, I made them similar to the one above:

and this is the second Mother’s Day card, this time in my favourite colour combination (pink and brown!!):

 

With all three cards, I stamped the tulips onto Strathmore’s 140 lb watercolour paper with Memories Black ink.  Then I watercoloured them with Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolours, and cut them out.  I used an oval guide to cut out the smaller ovals, and then taped them to more cardstock, and carefully cut out the larger ovals freehand, because my oval guide didn’t have an oval just a tad bit bigger than the smaller ovals.  I used Cuttlebug embossing folders (Happy Birthday and Divine Swirls) for the background, and sponged Stampin’ Up!’s Whisper White ink over the embossed cardstock.  I used a white Signo gel pen to add the polka dots (which are, as always, inspired by Markie’s Mom’s cards).  When I grow up, I wanna make cards like she does.  This white gel pen was also used for the sentiments on the Mother’s Day cards. 

The tulips are from a grab bag that I got from Angi B & Co., who are, unfortunately, in the process of going out of business.  Since then, I have learned of two companies who have picked up some of Angi B & Co.’s images: SmARTworks and Wood Cellar Graphics.

4 Responses to “Tulips galore”

  1. Shelley aka Hairchick Says:

    These cards are really pretty!

  2. Sophia Szanto Says:

    Very pretty, The pink and brown is my favorite color combo of the two, and of course the dots are something I have gotten into the habit of doing to thanks to Markie’s Mom.

  3. Charmaine Says:

    love the coloring on the tulips…

    Charmaine

  4. Velta Says:

    Great cards!! The Purple card at the top is my favorite…TFS!

Leave a Reply

