Predictable Flowers

A co-worker requested three cards from me.  Fortunately, she said these cards were for women.  Hurray!  That means I can stamp flowers!  My co-worker also asked that they be medium-sized, so I took that as an excuse to go to the local paper warehouse and bought a box of 250 envelopes for $36.  These envelopes are for cards sized 5″ x 7″.  These cards are for my co-worker’s women’s club’s birthdays, so I figured that each recipient would eventually see the other two cards, so I decided to make them similar, but not the same.  I went with my favourite (but very predictable) layout and pulled out all my favourite flower stamps. 

This is the first one I made, and my favourite one of the bunch.

I used Stampin’ Up!’s Gentler Times for the bouquet and the background, and Flourishes LLC’s Flourished Words for the “Happy Birthday” sentiment on all three cards.  This one just flowed from me and I had so much fun making it.  This is my favourite kind of card to make – detailed vintage images with watercolouring, sponging to age the thing, and layers!  And ribbons and brads too.  For a complete list of stuff used to make this card, you can see this card’s gallery photo.

 

The second card:

This one uses the flower and the leaf branch (in the background) from Stampin’ Up!’s Touch of Nature and the French version of Friend By Definition.  The stitches are from Stampendous’ Stitched Frames.  I love the stitches here, and the clear stamp makes it easier for me to line up the stitches.  I like this card second best.  For a complete list of stuff used for this card, you can look here.

 

The last card:

The flower is from Stampin’ Up!’s Flower Garden.  I bought this set from my demo. Lucky me!  I actually prefer the rose from this set, but was trying to break away from my comfort zone of pinks and browns.  The swirl is from Stampin’ Up’s Baroque Motifs.  I had a heck of a time watercolouring this hydrangea!  I kept asking my husband how I could make it look better.  *grimace*  I should’ve went with the rose!  Ah well.  Next time.   For a complete list of stuff used to make this card, you can look here.

6 Responses to “Predictable Flowers”

  1. Theresa Says:

    These are beautiful cards! I love your colors.

  2. Hulda Pollock Says:

    Wonderful cards. You got me looking through the catalog wondering how I missed those stamps just to find out that the one I recognised is the only current one of those three. Well, I guess that’s good news for my wallet *lol*

  3. stagccva Says:

    All three versions are absolutely lovely!! You are so talented 🙂

  4. Cindy H. Says:

    All three of these cards are so elegant!!! TFS

  5. meda Says:

    I think you’ve done a wonderful job on these cards. I prefer the last two. And the coloring of the hydragena is absolutey fantastic. I have a lot to learn from you so I think I’ll come around often.

  6. Charmaine Says:

    I like each card for different reasons…they are all wonderful. And the coloring on the hydrangea is great…I’m glad you didn’t go for the rose…hydrangea is one of my favorite flowers 🙂

    Charmaine

Leave a Reply

