2008 Graduation

Jan Marie of Flourishes LLC sent me these awesome JustRite DIY Monogram stampers!  Her generosity is heart-warming!  Some of the large numbers came on a pad, so I took the numbers off and used the pad as a stamp holder, because the circle stamp holder was too small.  It was easy to use the straight lines of the holders to match up to the straight lines on the acrylic block so that “DEVON 2008” would be straight. 

 

My nephew Devon just graduated from eighth grade.  His school colours are red and white, so I threw in some red. 

 

The frame is by Purple Onion Designs. The swirls behind it are by Technique Tuesday. The word “Congratulations” is from Flourishes LLC’s Flourished Words stamp set, which was also a gift from Jan Marie!

I used Neenah’s Classic Linen Paper for this card – Solar White and Red. After I stamped everything, I coloured in the swirls and the frame’s decorations with a fine-tipped calligraphy pen and red calligraphy ink. It would have been too difficult to do this quickly with the watercolours and brush that I normally use to colour. Then I finished the card by punching the corners with the ticket corner punch. 

5 Responses to “2008 Graduation”

  1. Jan Marie (1flourish) Says:

    Sophie, this is a great card and I am sure that one Devon will treasure.

  2. Mary Duffek Says:

    Beautiful card!

  3. JustRite Stampers Says:

    I already commented on your SCS gallery but I had to post a comment here too…I am loving this idea! Thank you for sharing this with all your blogging friends. I have added your post to our Google Reader Shared Ideas. Thanks, Denise

  4. Charmaine Says:

    Love the red…it’s so vibrant! I think I need that “frame” image as well 🙂

    Charmaine

  5. Linda F. Wilson Says:

    What a great tip using the regular pad for straight line stamping..

Leave a Reply

