Spigot repair

Friday at work I was whining about the leaking spigot to my favourite co-worker.  I said that the plumber was coming on Monday.  He slapped his forehead as if I was retarded but kindly said “It’s probably just the washer.”  Then he asked me to draw it for him, and what I had already taken apart, and then he described over and over what he thought I should do.  I got off work early, drove home, got the faucet parts that I had disassembled, and tried to do what my co-worker said to do.  Failing, I took a digital photo of the spigot, and drove to my parents’ house and talked to my dad about it, who confirmed what my co-worker said, but suggested different ways to unscrew the stem, and gave me several different-sized washers from his toolbox.  Then I returned home and tried to unscrew the stem on the faucet again.  I still couldn’t, and went to the hardware store and showed them the photograph and the faucet parts.  This guy Ron said to put the handle back on and to use the handle to unscrew it all the way;  just turn it as if I was turning the faucet on, and keep going, and the whole thing would come out.  Well, I went home and he was right!!!  So the stem came out, and I tried my darndest to unscrew the screw at the other end, but knew that I was only distorting the screw with my crappy screwdriver.  So I went back to the hardware store, where some other guy said to try a better screwdriver, and if that didn’t work, then try to file down the sides of the screw, and then use pliers to unscrew it, and at that moment, thankfully Ron showed up again, and said “hey!  At least she got the stem out!”  *grin*.  Then he said “I bet we can get it loosened” and took the stem to the back room, where I think he filed down the sides of the screw and used pliers to get the screw out.  Then he dug out the washer, which was really, really embedded in there!!!  Then he took me to the correct aisle for the correct size washer (I had forgotten my dad’s washers at home) and it only cost 59 cents!!!  I said I owe him $80 ’cause that’s at LEAST what the plumber would’ve charged me.  I am so terribly grateful!  So I made him a card, and inside the card, is this tag…

 

I drew it first in pencil on Neenah’s Classic Linen Paper (Baronial Ivory), and then inked it up with a 005 Micron pen.  Then I watercoloured it with Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolours (except for the blue spots on the flowers – that is with Grumbachers).  I know this will go into a card for a guy, but I couldn’t help myself;  I included flowers anyway. 

12 Responses to “Spigot repair”

  1. Cindy H. Says:

    Sophie, what a great story and what a perfect card!!! Sorry you had all that frustration, but you did it, you fixed it (with a little help from a friend)!!

    Your card is wonderful! My DH is a gardener (grows all his flowers and tomatoes from seed) and would love that card (as long as it doesn’t have ribbon, lol)!! tfs

  2. Laurie in MN Says:

    I am in awe of your talent.
    This is my first visit. I will be back.

  3. Laurie in MN Says:

    I have returned and I am again amazed.

  4. SueO Says:

    You are amazing!! Love your work!

  5. meda Says:

    You are areal talent! And you also inspired me to draw my own cards. I was just thinking about that this morning as I needed a pansy card for a friend but don”t have the right stamp. Question: how come the ink does not leak when you apply watercolor?

  6. Charmaine Says:

    Hi Sophie!

    Great story…it’s always nice when someone helps you out when you are feeling like a “dumb girl” in the hardware store 🙂 At least that’s how I usually feel when I’m in there.

    Great work as always.

    Charmaine

  7. *Arwen* Says:

    Hi Sophie
    Your card is so great – I love it

    xoxo
    Arwen

  8. Sharon Says:

    I had to chuckle when I read the story and saw the tag.

  9. mike Says:

    Actual topic. Writing is worthy of attention.

  10. automotive jacks Says:

    I have to say, that I could not agree with you in 100%, but that’s just my IMHO, which indeed could be very wrong.
    p.s. You have an awesome template for your blog. Where have you got it from?

  11. Cordless Screwdriver Says:

    I have seen some crappy posts but this one really impresses me. Good work.

  12. Su G Says:

    It is good to do something nice for Sophie, the rewards are priceless.

Leave a Reply

