Beary Christmas

Sorry for the lame title.  Anyway.  I bought a (non-SU!) Christmas tree stamp that my demo was selling for 50 cents (according to the price sticker that was still attached, it was originally $11.50!  Wow, I lucked out!) !  I wanted to use it, so I did, here…

I wanted to put ornaments on it, and had the perfect bear for the task (from Angi B & Co., see edited note below).  For the ornaments, at first I experimented with balls, but didn’t like that, even though it would’ve been very easy to punch out a bunch of circles.  So I used candy canes and gingerbread men instead.  This was a super way for me to use up thin strips of ultra-expensive (to me) watercolour paper that I just can’t make myself throw away. 

I stamped the background snowflakes before sponging, so the sponging smeared the snowflakes a little.  If I were to re-do it, I would sponge first this time.  I was just too lazy to re-do it here. 

The gingerbread man that the bear is holding is on a dimensional.

I actually meant for this card to be for my demo (because I got the tree stamp from her), but um, my husband is keeping it instead.  I will try to make a second one for my demo. 

Card supplies:

Stamps: 

Darcie’s Country Folk (tree;  I think this is discontinued;  it’s from 1993, and I couldn’t find it on their website),
– Angi B & Co. (bear [see edited note below] and gingerbread men),
– Stampin’ Up! (candy canes from Candy Cane Christmas, background snowflakes from Snowflake Spot, the words “joyeux noël” from the French version of Everyday Flexible Phrases),
– Rusty Pickle (damask stamp from their Princess Bride set),
– Technique Tuesday (stitches from their Frayed Ends set).

Paper:
Strathmore’s 140 lb cold-pressed watercolour paper (for bear and ornaments), Neenah’s Paper Classic Linen (dark green, red), kraft, olive green (for the tree).

Ink: Memories Black. Tim Holtz:  Aged Mahogany, Vintage Photo (for sponging on the kraft paper), Pine Needle (for sponging on the tree).

Accessories:  Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolours, Stampin’ Up! Antique Brass Hodgepodge Hardware, sponge, dimensional (behind the gingerbread man that the bear is holding), Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write marker (for stitches on the kraft pane).

Edited to add:  That bear is now available through SmARTworks and might be called Sweater Teddy.  Hey!  I found it!!  Here it is:  on Page 97 of the SmARTworks catalog.  Thank you Dini, for the information! (see first comment).

4 Responses to “Beary Christmas”

  1. dini Says:

    That bear is available now through smARTworks (www.smartrubber.com) – I think the set is called Sweater Teddy. Thank you for the great idea!

  2. Cindy H. Says:

    What an adorable card!! Your DH is very fortunate – he has a collection of some gorgeous Sophie Art! TFS

  3. Jane Says:

    This is ADORABLE! Wow, I can’t believe you are working on Christmas stuff already!

    Jane

  4. Lim Says:

    Oh wow.. What an amazing card.. I love the coloring and all the details. Gorgeous.
    Hugs,
    LIM

Leave a Reply

