Christmas branch

I was rummaging through tags and cards I had made for my husband and found a Christmas gift tag from last Christmas. It inspired this card:

I tore a lot of edges for SCS’s Thursday challenge.  The torn edges on the kraft panel are straighter because I scored first and then tore.  On all the other panels, I tore without scoring.  I left the red panels un-torn because I was tired of tearing by then.

I also did a ton of sponging!  I think that is my favourite thing to do.  I sponged red ink on the red paper, green ink on the green paper, brown ink on the cream and kraft papers.  I even sponged the ribbon!  It was originally red and white.  I found the white to be too bright, so I sponged it with brown ink. 

The French here means “Merry Christmas my love” (it’s for my husband).  For the star, I taped three scrap pieces of kraft together, drew a star in pencil, cut it out, erased the pencil, and then sponged the sides of it.  Then I put it on a dimensional.    

Stamps used:  Stampin’ Up!  Peaceful Wishes, Canvas, French version of Everyday Flexible Phrases.  Technique Tuesday (Frayed Ends, Whirlygigs, Whispygigs).

Paper:  kraft, Neenah’s Paper Classic Linen (Baronial Ivory, red), olive green

Ink:  Memories Black, Stampin’ Up! Always Artichoke, Tim Holtz (Fired Brick, Brushed Corduroy, Antique Linen)

Misc:  sponges, ribbon, red brads, red eyelet, twine, dimensional, crimper, decorative scissors.

3 Responses to “Christmas branch”

  1. jennifer Says:

    Beautiful card. I love the colours, very Christmas-y and warm.

  2. Cindy H. Says:

    I love the vintage look of this beautiful card! The untorn red panels make everything else pop! TFS

  3. Sharon Says:

    I love the worn look with your coloring and torn edges. It also reminds me of all the “tea dyed” fabric I did making quilts years ago, and still a favorite look.

Leave a Reply

