Boo To You

I made this card for my nephew and niece (and a duplicate for my husband). 

I think you can click on it for a larger view.  I finally figured out how to do this (I think).

All the stamps in the foreground are by Angi B & Co., who are no longer in business.  But SmARTworks might have them (oops, actually, they don’t;  see note at the bottom), because they are the new home for some Angi B & Co. stamps.  Wood Cellar Graphics also has some Angi B & Co. stamps that are similar, but I did not see the ones I used.

The ghost is the first layer on dimensionals, and then the sign is on a second layer of dimensionals, and finally the cat and pumpkins are on a third layer of dimensionals (this card could be a doorstop).  I hand-wrote “Luke & Melody”  (but on my husband’s card, I wrote out “Patricio”).  “Boo to you” and the candy corn are also on dimensionals.  I stamped all of this onto watercolour paper, watercoloured them, and cut them out (before sticking them onto dimensionals). 

On the background squares, I stamped the tiny border squares by hand, using the little square from Stampendous’ Geo Shapes set.  The background decorative stamp is from Rusty Pickle’s Princess Bride set.  I stamped it first in orange, but it was too overpowering, so I stamped over it again with Stampin’ Up!’s Whisper White craft ink. 

I originally made this card a loooong time ago, for some SCS sketch challenge.  I just barely finished it yesterday.  This card is actually 5 x 7 inches. 

Then my demo got her catalogues!  I raced over to her house and got one.  On page 26 (of the fall-winter 2008 Stampin’ Up! catalogue) was the cutest jumbo wheel (Haunting).  I got inspired by the little witch there and drew this… 

I cut it out and stuck it inside my husband’s Boo to You card.  (’cause that’s myself that I drew, with the glasses and uncombed hair.  AND, I really am that short!)

Card supplies:

Stamps:  Angi B & Co., Stampendous (Geo Shapes set), Rusty Pickle (Princess Bride set)
Paper:  Neenah’s Paper Classic Linen (Baronial Ivory, Black), Strathmore’s 140 lb watercolour paper (for main images)
Ink:  Memories Black, Tim Holtz Spiced Marmalade, Stampin’ Up! Whisper White
Miscellaneous:  Winsor & Newton watercolours, dimensionals, sponges, 005 Micron pen (for the drawing)

Edited to add:  SmARTworks does not have the Halloween Angi B images after all.  Thank you Susan Trask, for the information.

9 Responses to “Boo To You”

  1. Laurie in MN Says:

    I have seen the triangle pattern card on other blogs and all the cards look great. I like how you divided the sentiment between each small square.

    I can’t believe you drew the witch with your face. Very cute drawing.

  2. Cindy H. Says:

    Wow, what a great card!!! So much to look at and admire! As I was studying your card and reading the description, I looked at those little squares around the borders of the squares and admired how beautifully they were colored. Then, I read that you stamped each one out by hand??!! What a wonderful job you did! And, as if that weren’t enough, you drew that awesome little witch! You are amazingly talented! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sandra Says:

    Dear SophieLafontaine,

    I love that drawing girl! I figured you are probably an artist judging by the avatar on your splitcoast postings……

    I will come here and visit often….

    Thanks, Sandra (AKA Westwind)

  4. Susan Trask Says:

    Great card! Your nephew and niece will LOVE it. Just thought I’d let your readers know that smARTworks did not acquire any of the Angi-B Halloween images… Another company bought those, but I’m not sure which one.

  5. Simon Says:

    I just LOOOVE your work! Too cute, and makes me smile all *grin

  6. Victoria Says:

    I am in awe of your talent. And I love that you get and give so much enjoyment thru it. I love the drawing and that Boo card is too adorable.

  7. Jane Says:

    WOW…you DREW that? You are my hero!

    Jane

  8. Sandra Says:

    Sophie….

    Obviously that witch sees a dentist!

    Sandra

  9. Joan B Says:

    Your work is stunning! I am just soaking it up tonight.

Leave a comment